A Trio of Debussy for Quartet


SKU: SM-F81F Categories: ,


Claude Debussy ~ Arranged by Melanie Thorne

The three works in this arrangement are contrasting, and are perhaps not as well-known as some of Debussy’s other works.  The first Minstrels was written in the years just before WW1, and the many changes of tempi and mood provide interest for both the performers and audiences.  The second piece Le Petit Berger is a relaxed reflective piece, exploring the sonorities of the instruments.  The final piece Danse Bohémienne is a very lively composition that was written in 1880 whilst Debussy lived in Russia, and the dance-like elements were influenced through the vitality of some Polish dances. (Grade 6-8)
[4 Fl/opt alto Fl dbl Flute 4]

Sample score